Dreams do come true – sometimes it just takes a little longer than planned

My New Years resolution for 2013 was to write a novel and get it published. I started writing my original novel in earnest, making pretty good progress during the first couple of months but then I lost my focus and let it fall by the wayside.

By the beginning of November of 2013 I had roughly 14,000 words, which was a far cry from the 60,000 words I needed in order for my work to be considered a novel, so I signed up to do NaNoWriMo. This was exactly the kick in the pants that I needed. By the end of the month, I had 45,014 words.

When 2013 drew to a close I didn’t have the rough draft finished, but I was pretty close so my New Years resolution was carried over into 2014. By the end of February, I had my rough draft completed, but I still had a long way to go.

I sent my novel to some friends, who helped me with the editing process. There was a lot of back and forth until I finally decided that I had a finished product that was good enough to submit. Hitting the send button was difficult, but I knew that I’d done everything I could on my end so it was time to let it go.

Seven weeks later I got the news – Dreamspinner Press was going to publish my novel “Linemates”!! Getting the contract offer was a dream come true for me. Linemates will be published May/June of 2015. I’m looking forward to the process that will lead up to publication. I still have a hard time believing this is actually happening.

This year I didn’t sign up for NaNoWriMo, because November is typically a very busy month at work. I have been thinking about my next novel, which will be a M/M young adult romance. I just need to get my butt in gear and get working on it!

About dkdunnwriter

I've enjoyed writing ever since I can remember. One of the first stories I wrote was in elementary school. It was a Snoopy/Star Wars mash up which were two things I loved at the time - still do. My first novel "Linemates" which is being published by Dreamspinner Press will be release Spring 2015. It's a dream come true for me! I live in the metro Detroit area. I've been working at an advertising agency for the past 12 years. My passions (besides writing) include travel, "Supernatural," the Detroit Red Wings, "Star Wars," and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

